Ms. Right, The Magnificent!

Ms. Right! Ms. Right! Ms. Right! As the lights dim, I creep out of the shadows. Robust humming encloses the arena. Ba Bump! Ba Bump! Ba Bump! My heart pounds uncontrollably. Why is today any different? Why am I afraid? Perfectly popped kernels fill the air as people patiently wait for the thrill. Vibrant lights scan the faces of the crowd. Seats holding the weight of blithe disregard for the dangers about to occur.
It is my time. I must shine. I must engage the crowd. A pair of menacing eyes catch my gaze.

“Who are you?” I hear a faint voice whisper.

“I am The Magnificent!” I reply.

The eyes gain towards me. As the figure appears, my breath begins to shorten. Why am I afraid?

“Who are you?” The voice shouts!

“I am The Magnificent!” Shouting reluctantly.

“Why are you here?” The tone of disdain crept from the voice.

“To help change lives!” I say with pride.

“Then you are ready!” The voice creeps out of the shadows and reveals an older woman. My heart sinks with surprise. My grandmother glides with a beaming aura surrounding her. She smiles, kisses my forehead lightly and returns to the shadows. I AM READY! Beep! Beep! Beep! The blasting of my alarm rings my ears. The sun flashes across my face. Ms. Right, THE Magnificent gets ready to take the stage!

In my classroom, I find myself entertaining more than teaching. I plan the most magnificent lessons and my students still prove that my attempts are lackluster. Every day I walk the tight rope praying for ooos and awwws. My desire to help them reach their fullest potential is fool proof. Or so I thought. My students walk the tight rope of life every day, some of them with no guidance. Sitting in my classroom is a rest stop before the next climb. Constantly, I am afraid of failing them. I am afraid that I will not live up to their expectations as a psychologist, mother, social worker, coach, or teacher. As they juggle their many hats, I battle with which loose ball I am going to help them catch. The arena is unpredictable. Every day I strap on my top hat and begin to lead the small circuses of their lives. I am so much more than their teacher. I am the ringleader of my classroom, but without their acts my circus would be empty.

Leave a comment